Menu Bar

Home           Calendar           Topics          Just Charlestown          About Us
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Sue Sosnowski, Kathy Fogarty receive honors

Several legislators honored by RI Farm Bureau at annual meeting

Image result for sosnowski farm
Sen. Sue Sosnowski
The Rhode Island Farm Bureau recently awarded several legislators with awards for their legislative work during the bureau’s annual meeting which was held at the Quonset Officers Club in North Kingstown on November 16.

The 2017 Outstanding House Environment and Natural Resources Committee Person Award was presented to Rep. Raymond A. Hull (D-Dist. 6, Providence), Rep. David A. Bennett (D-Dist. 20, Warwick, Cranston), and Rep. Alex D. Marszalkowski (D-Dist. 52, Cumberland).  

The representatives were recognized for their work on the committee where they supported the views of the RI Farm Bureau.

The bureau also awarded three legislators with the RIFB Navigator Award.  The award is given to deserving individuals or entities that are fearless in protecting the rights of Rhode Islanders and preserving agriculture in our state. 

Rep. Kathleen A. Fogarty (D-Dist. 35, South Kingstown) was recognized for sponsoring legislation (2017-H 5772) that exempts seeds and plants used to grow food and food ingredients from sales tax.

Rep. Arthur Handy (D-Dist. 18, Cranston) was given the award for sponsoring legislation (2017-H 6095Aaa) which exempts land previously classified as farm, forest or open space land from land use change tax if the landowner converts no more than 20% acreage to install a renewable energy system.

Sen. V. Susan Sosnowski (D-Dist. 37, South Kingstown, New Shoreham) was recognized for sponsoring three separate pieces of legislation this year.  

The first bill (2017-S 0448B) would exempt gross receipts from the sale of seeds and plants used to grow food and food products from sales and use taxes.  

The second bill (2017-S 0570) is the identical companion legislation to the bill Representative Handy sponsored. 

The third bill (2017-S 0720A) would authorize the directors of the Department of Environmental Management and the Department of Health to enforce the Federal Food Safety Modernization Act as it pertains to commercial growers of fruits and vegetables.