Menu Bar

Home           Calendar           Topics          Just Charlestown          About Us
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Friday, November 2, 2018

Senate candidate Jennifer Douglas, running to unseat Elaine Morgan, wins another endorsement

Young Dems also endorse Tanzi, Valverdeocrats of Rhode Island PAC Announces 2018 General Election Endorsements

The Young Democrats of Rhode Island Political Action Committee (YDRI PAC) is proud to announce our 2018 general election endorsements.  

“These candidates were selected based on their commitment to the values that young Rhode Islanders care about. They earned our endorsement because of their willingness to take a hard stand on the most pressing issues of our time. 

"These values include: Fighting to reverse the effects of climate change through rapid expansion of our green energy economy; investing in our schools and teachers; fighting for a $15 living minimum wage; expanding protections for workers; standing strong for women’s right to choose, and ensuring every Rhode Islander has access to a high quality, affordable education, housing, and health care,” said YDRI PAC Chair Michael Beauregard.

Beauregard continued, “We were proud to have over 28 young democrats run for various statewide offices in RI and our members have volunteered for these candidates all election season. We helped to make a difference in a number of primary elections this year, and we intend to continue this critical work on November 6. If you’re a young voter wondering who to support and who shares your values in RI, consider these leaders.”

State Senate

SD 5 (Providence) – Sam Bell
SD 19 (Cumberland) – Ryan Pearson
SD 9 (West Warwick) – Adam Satchell
SD 11 (Bristol, Portsmouth, Middletown) – Jim Seveney
SD 24 (Woonsocket, North Smithfield) – Melissa Murray
SD 28 (Cranston) – Joshua Miller
SD 32 (Barrington, Bristol, East Providence) – Cynthia Coyne
SD 34 (Charlestown, Richmond, Exeter, Hopkinton, West Greenwich) – Jennifer Douglas
SD 35 (East Greenwich, North Kingstown, South Kingstown, Narragansett) – Bridget Valverde

RI House of Representatives

HD 3 (Providence) – Moira Walsh
HD 4 (Providence) – Rebecca Kislak
HD 5 (Providence)  – Marcia Ranglin-Vassell
HD 12 (Providence) – Joseph Almeida
HD 30 (East Greenwich) – Justine Caldwell
HD 34 (Narragansett, Peace Dale, Wakefield) – Teresa Tanzi
HD 41 (Coventry, Scituate) – Michael Steiner
HD 60 (Pawtucket) – Karen Alzate
HD 66 (Barrington, East Providence) – Liana Cassar
HD 68 (Bristol, Warren) – Laufton Ascencao
HD 69 (Bristol, Portsmouth) – Susan Donovan
HD 72 (Middletown, Portsmouth) – Terri Cortvriend
HD 74 (Jamestown, Middletown) – Deborah Ruggiero

Municipal Office

Jacob Brier – Barrington Town Council
Jessica Vega – Central Falls City Council Ward 5
Lammis Vargas – Cranston City Council Ward 1
John Donegan – Cranston City Council Ward 3
Stephen Tranghese – Cranston City Council Ward 6
Meghan Kallman – Pawtucket City Council Ward 5
Elena Vasquez  – Pawtucket City Council At-Large
Kat Kerwin – Providence City Council Ward 12
Rachel Miller – Providence City Council Ward 13
Jeremy Rix – Warwick City Council Ward 2
Roberto Moreno – Pawtucket School Committee
Stacey Elliott – North Kingstown Town Council At-Large
L. Maria Rivera – Central Falls City Council At-Large
Angela McCalla – Newport Town Council, Ward 1
Andrew Kelly – Portsmouth Town Council At-Large

Daniela Abbott – Portsmouth Town Council At-Large

The Young Democrats of Rhode Island Political Action Committee is committed to electing young democrats to public office in Rhode Island and candidates who share our values.  

To learn more about YDRI PAC or how you can get involved in electing young democrats at every level of public office in Rhode Island, see here.

[From a press release]