Menu Bar

Home           Calendar           Topics          Just Charlestown          About Us

Friday, July 20, 2018

YDRI endorses opponent to Sen. Elaine Morgan

Young Democrats of Rhode Island PAC Announces First Round of 2018 Endorsements

The Young Democrats of Rhode Island Political Action Committee (YDRI PAC) is proud to announce our first round of 2018 endorsements.

“These candidates were selected based on their commitment to the values that young Rhode Islanders care about. Their willingness to take hard stands on the most pressing issues of our time is why they have earned our endorsement, including:
Fighting to reverse the effects of climate change through rapid expansion of our green energy economy,
  • Investing in our schools and teachers,
  • Fighting for a $15 living minimum wage,
  • Expanding protections for workers,
  • Standing strong for women’s right to choose, and
  • Ensuring every Rhode Islander has access to a high quality and affordable education, housing, and healthcare”
YDRI PAC Chair Michael Beauregard said “We are very proud to have over 21 young democrats running for various statewide offices in RI and our members are ready to work for these candidates all summer and into the fall elections.”

General Officers

Lieutenant Governor - Aaron Regunberg

RI House of Representatives

HD 3 (Providence) - Friends of Moira Walsh
HD 4 (Providence) - Rebecca Kislak for District 4
HD 5 (Providence) - RI State Representative Marcia Ranglin-Vassell
HD 12 (Providence) - Joseph Almeida
HD 34 (Narragansett, Peace Dale, Wakefield) - RI State Representative Teresa Tanzi
HD 41 (Cranston, Scituate) - Michael Steiner for State Rep
HD 60 (Pawtucket) - Karen Alzate for State Representative District 60
HD 66 (Barrington, East Providence) - Liana Cassar for RI District 66
HD 68 (Bristol, Warren) - Laufton Ascencao for State Representative
HD 69 (Bristol, Portsmouth) - Susan R. Donovan, RI State Representative, District 69
HD 72 (Middletown, Portsmouth) - Terri Cortvriend for RI State Representative District 72
HD 74 (Jamestown, Middletown) - Deborah Ruggiero

State Senate

SD 9 (West Warwick) - Adam Satchell
SD 11 (Bristol, Portsmouth, Tiverton) - Jim Seveney
SD 24 (Woonsocket, North Smithfield) - Melissa Murray
SD 28 (Cranston) - Josh Miller
SD 30 (Warwick) - Senator Jeanine Calkin
SD 32 (Barrington, Bristol, East Providence) - Cynthia Coyne
SD 34 (Charlestown, Richmond, Exeter, Hopkinton, West Greenwich) - Jennifer Douglas for RI State Senate District 34
SD 35 (East Greenwich, North Kingstown, South Kingstown, Narragansett) - Bridget Valverde for RI State Senate - District 35

Municipal Office

Jacob Brier - Barrington Town Council
Jessica Vega - Central Falls City Council Ward 5
Lammis Vargas for Council - Cranston City Council Ward 1
John Donegan for Cranston City Council, Ward 3
Stephen Tranghese for Cranston - Cranston City Council Ward 6
Stacey Elliott for North Kingstown Town Council
Drew Maguire, Democrat For Pawtucket City Council District 4
Meghan Kallman for Pawtucket City Council - Pawtucket City Council Ward 5
Janie Segui Rodriguez for Pawtucket City Council At-Large
Friends of Emmanuel R. Echevarria - Pawtucket City Council At-Large
Elena Vasquez for Pawtucket City Council At-Large
Justice Gaines for Providence City Council Ward 1 - Providence City Council Ward 1
Jason Roias for Ward 4 - Providence City Council Ward 4
Aaron Jaehnig for City Council Ward 5 - Providence City Council Ward 5
Kat Kerwin for Ward 12 - Providence City Council Ward 12
Rachel Miller - Providence City Council Ward 13
Jeremy Rix - Warwick City Council, Ward 2

YDRI PAC will announce a second round of 2018 endorsements following the primary election.

The Young Democrats of Rhode Island Political Action Committee is committed to electing young democrats to public office in Rhode Island and candidates who share our values.

To learn more about YDRI PAC or how you can get involved in electing young democrats at every level of public office in Rhode Island, go to: