Menu Bar

Home           Calendar           Topics          Just Charlestown          About Us

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Club names its picks in “key primaries”

By Bob Plain in Rhode Island’s Future

EDITOR’S NOTE: September 13 is the date for the Rhode Island primary election for seats other than US President. While Charlestown voters will not see any local seat on the ballot, there is a primary choice to be made by Democrats for US House of Representatives, District 2.

Rep. Jim Langevin has been endorsed by the Charlestown Democratic Town Committee. So please, get out and vote.

The RI Chapter of the Sierra Club has endorsed 17 legislative candidates – 12 running for a seat in the House of Representatives and 5 running for Senate seats.

“Our political committee based these decisions on a shared questionnaire with Clean Water Action, sent to every candidate, that focused heavily on what the two groups see as the top challenges and goals of the upcoming legislative season,” according to a news release from the Sierra Club. 

“The candidates below are the ones the Sierra Club believes are both willing and capable of creating a truly resilient, renewable and environmentally responsible Rhode Island.”

The Sierra Club said it will be “adding more endorsements in the days to come for those unopposed or facing/posing a November challenge. The below list of endorsements is specifically focused on the candidates involved in races we have determined to be key primaries.”

Representative in General Assembly

  • Moira Walsh, District 3  – Providence
  • Marcia Ranglin-Vassell, District 5  – Providence
  • Grace Diaz, District 11 – Providence
  • Lisa Scorpio, District 13 – Johnston/Providence
  • Nicholas Delmonico, District 27 – Coventry/Warwick/West Warwick
  • Teresa Tanzi, District 34 – Narragansett/South Kingstown
  • Kathleen Fogarty, District 35 – South Kingstown
  • William Deware, District 54 – North Providence
  • David Norton, District 60 – Pawtucket
  • Jason Knight, District 67 – Barrington/Warren
  • Susan Donovan, District 69 – Bristol/Portsmouth
  • Linda Finn, District 72 – Middletown/Newport/Portsmouth

Senator in General Assembly
  • Doris De Los Santos, District 7 – Providence/North Providence
  • Matt Fecteau, District 8 – Pawtucket
  • Daniel Issa, District 16 – Central Falls/Pawtucket
  • Dennis Lavallee, District 17 – Lincoln/North Providence/North Smithfield
  • Jeanine Calkin, District 30 – Warwick

Bob Plain is the editor/publisher of Rhode Island's Future. Previously, he's worked as a reporter for several different news organizations both in Rhode Island and across the country.